Despite the fact that each state in the US establishes and enforces its own set of road laws, it is your responsibility as the motorist to be aware of the code of conduct anytime you cross state lines. And that's a huge thing because certain states are pushing down hard on speeding. It does not, however, have to be difficult. You should be fine if you stick to the posted speed restrictions. Isn't that true for everyone?
Of course, there's a reason why states are taking criminals more seriously. According to WalletHub, speed was a role in 27 percent of deaths caused by automobile collisions in 2016. Additionally, speeding is costly. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, speed-related collisions cost $40.4 billion per year. It affects your budget as well, because the faster you drive, the less efficient your car becomes.
Which leads us back to knowing the laws of the state in which you are now located. Consider that writing tickets is a cash cow for some states and counties, bringing in a lot of revenue in the form of penalties and fees, if the reasons we've already discussed aren't enough to discourage you from speeding. So, if you don't want to lose your licence or pay a lot of money, be aware of the driving regulations in these states, which are among the hardest in the country.
Georgia is number one.
Getting a Super Speeder ticket in Georgia may seem like a good idea until you see the fee. The Super Speeder Law, which went into effect on January 1, 2010, defines a "driver convicted of speeding at 75 mph (120 kph) or more on a two-lane road or at 85 mph (136 kph) or more on any road or highway in the State of Georgia" as "a driver convicted of speeding at 75 mph (120 kph) or more on any road or highway in the State of Georgia." If you obtain a Super Speeder ticket, you'll have to pay any applicable fines and costs based on where you were speeding, as well as a $200 state of Georgia flat rate. If you do not pay the $200 fine within 120 days of receiving the ticket, your licence will be suspended until you pay the state another $50 (plus all fees) to have it reinstated.
Delaware is number two.
According to WalletHub, Delaware may be the harshest state in the US when it comes to reckless driving enforcement, while the state ranks eighth when it comes to speed limit enforcement. "Any individual operating any vehicle with intentional or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property," according to Delaware law. The first violation of careless driving in Delaware involves a fine ranging from $100 to $300, as well as 10 to 30 days in jail – or both. Every second crime within three years after a prior offence carries a fine of $300 to $1,000 and a sentence of 30 to 60 days in prison.
3. The state of New Jersey
When crossing into New Jersey, be cautious of your speed. You could be prosecuted with "racing on public highways" if you go over the posted speed limit by 10 mph (16 kph). The police don't have to prove you were actually racing somebody, so that seems like a rather loose use of the term "racing." The law, on the other hand, reflects the state's distaste for street racing culture. The legislation in question, NJSA 39:4-52, stipulates that "no person shall operate a motor vehicle upon a public highway for the purpose of a wager, in a race, or for the purpose of setting a speed record," although much is left to the judge's discretion. If you're found guilty, you'll have to pay fines based on your speed, your licence could be suspended for up to 30 days, and your auto insurance rates will almost certainly increase.
4. The state of Virginia
The law in Virginia isn't as lenient. Simply exceeding 80 mph (128 kph) anywhere in the state, or exceeding the posted speed limit by 20 mph, can result in a reckless driving prosecution (32 kph). That is, even if you weren't going as fast as the reckless driving statute allows (i.e., you weren't being aggressive, inattentive, or disobeying safe driving standards). The ticketing officer might issue you a citation for dangerous driving based only on his observations and levy the penalty simply because. A reckless driving penalty in Virginia can cost you up to $2,500, plus a year in jail and a six-month suspension of your driver's licence.
Oregon is number five.
Oregon is one state where you definitely don't want to get a reckless driving ticket. For first and second time offenders, the state has the highest maximum fine. When "a person is aware of and consciously disregards a considerable and unjustified danger that the consequence will occur or that the scenario exists," reckless driving is regarded in Oregon. In other words, there is a lot of latitude in how the law is applied and can be applied to speeders, just as there is in Delaware. If you're convicted of reckless driving in Oregon, you might face up to $6,250 in fines, a year in jail, and five years of probation. Ouch!